Sharing: Bonnie Hunter’s 2015 Mystery Quilt

Sharing:  January 11, 2016

Bonnie Hunter’s 2015 Mystery Quilt

Linda Satkowski and I are doing the Bonnie Hunter 2015 Mystery Quilt this year.

Bonnie announces colors sometime in late October/early November.  And she gives the first “clue”–a unit in the quilt–on Friday after Thanksgiving.  These quilts have gone on to the famous in the scrappy quilting world.

I have done three of them now, and I have learned so much from Bonnie’s elaborate instructions on making and sewing blocks.

Here’s what my pile of “clues” looked like just before New Year’s:

IMG_0858

We made some really unusual units–which you can see especially on the right and the left of this picture.  Would this pile of units make a quilt?

Yes!

IMG_0746

Here are the two blocks.  Both go together as nine patches.  The middle one is made with a triangle ruler that I will show you in May when I do a program on rulers/fast sewing/tricks/etc.

IMG_0748

IMG_0749

There are really just two basic colors:  red and gold.  My mind is already turning over purple/green.  Or aqua/lime green.  Or red/orange.  The black could be any dark as well.  What about orange?  Or red?

People always substitute colors for Bonnie’s mystery quilts–and those quilts are showing up on the Quiltville FB group.  They are all stunning and fun.

Here’s my Allietore–growing on the design wall–since I could not resist making a few blocks:

IMG_0875

Bonnie almost always uses “busy” neutrals–so I tried to up my game on that.  I found a collection of neutrals from Cotton+Steel that I love and used them in this quilt.  Bonnie, however, used plainer neutrals in her version–so mine is busier.  But, I am in love with it and can’t wait to see it grow.  I found a great black fabric with little red swirls for the outer border.  And a great red for binding.  So, I’m thinking a grey for the backing.  I want to quilt in an old gold thread.

You can print the instructions for this quilt from the quiltville.com web site.  Use the blue button to go to the blog.  Look for the “Allietore” mystery tab on the banner.  Each post has a “printer friendly” link in the post.

You can also find the link for the FB quiltville group somewhere on the banner or the home page if you like.

 

Leave a Reply

