Sharing: Louisa’s January 2016 Quilty Update

Sharing:  January 11, 2016

Louisa’s January 2016 Quilty Update

Hi everyone!

I hope many of you–some of you–are going to be at the January “Sit and Sew” at the Lion’s Club this Thursday, 9-3.  We had such a nice day last month.

I’m going to be working on making my “crumb” sashings again.  Having a span of time to just “play” is so fun for me.  Here are some that I did last month.  I’m going to use them around a cheddar orange block that uses some of the 4-patches I did last summer.

IMG_0835

Margaret Elaine Jinno also showed me how she makes larger pieces of fabric “cloth” that she then cuts up into squares–and that’s fun too.

This little quilt–the second of two being made for two of my granddaughters who will be sharing a bedroom for the first time in February–is on the long arm today.

IMG_0864

These two quilts have been a long, long haul–taking much of the fall.  I cut the top and bottom borders down to the size of the blue and purple borders–and that looks better.  This quilt uses a lot of blocks I had made from leftovers or other projects.  But I also pieced a lot of these tiny, tiny blocks.  What was I thinking!!!  The trouble we can get into by using up scraps.

The “mother ship” is growing slowly but surely.  I am officially addicted to English Paper Piecing.

IMG_0873

Here’s the project:  Edyta Sitar’s Cover from Handfuls of Scraps.

IMG_0808

NO!  I am NOT DOING all that applique.  Will find a nice fabric for borders instead.

I’ve done two of the Farmer’s Wife 1930s Sampler Quilt blocks over the past few days–inspired by Becca Babb-Brott’s blocks at Saturday’s meeting.  I’ve had a big “reminder learning curve” on paper piecing.

Here are “Addie” and “Aimee”–and “Aimee” is a bit distorted by the camera angle.  She’s straight.

IMG_0871

IMG_0876

I’m loving working with these contemporary fabrics.

Louisa

Leave a comment